336 Doctor of Philosophy and Doctor of Law Degrees

Three hundred and thirty-six Hebrew University of Jerusalem students were awarded Doctor of Philosophy and Doctor of Law degrees at The Hebrew University’s annual Convocation ceremony on June 8. Israeli President Shimon Peres, European Commission President José Manuel Barroso, Nobel laureate Daniel Kahneman, and philanthropist Morton Mandel are among the distinguished figures who were honored at the event for their contributions to society.

The ceremony, which marked the opening of the 77th annual meeting of The Hebrew University’s Board of Governors, took place at the Rothberg Amphitheatre on the Mount Scopus campus.

President of Israel Shimon Peres received the 2014 Solomon Bublick Prize in recognition of his longstanding leadership and vision, and for his valuable contribution to the State of Israel. Businessman and philanthropist Morton L. Mandel received the 2014 Samuel Rothberg Prize for Jewish Education in recognition of his unparalleled contributions to education, as exemplified by the recent establishment of the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School for Advanced Studies in the Humanities at The Hebrew University.

Nine distinguished figures were awarded Honorary Doctorates at the Convocation:

  • Patricia L. Glaser is a preeminent business trial attorney in the United States and has been a champion of The Hebrew University for more than three decades;
  • Gail Asper is President of the Asper Foundation, a driving force behind The Hebrew University’s Asper Centre for Entrepreneurship and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights;
  • José Manuel Durão Barroso is President of the European Commission and former prime minister of Portugal;
  • Professor Daniel Kahneman is a Nobel laureate in economics and a fellow of The Hebrew University’s Center for the Study of Rationality;
  • Yehoshua Kenaz is one of the leading Hebrew authors of our time;
  • Yossi Langotsky is the guiding force behind the discovery of Israel’s off-shore gas reserves in the Mediterranean Sea;
  • Professor Joseph Raz is one of the leading legal, moral and political philosophers of our day;
  • Gerald M. Ronson is a business and philanthropy leader in the United Kingdom and a dedicated supporter of Israel;
  • Professor Lothar Willmitzer is founder of the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology and a longtime supporter of research at The Hebrew University’s Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment.

The 2014 honorary doctorate recipients also include (not attending the ceremony) Professor Patricia Crone, a scholar, author and historian of early Islamic history at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey; and Martin Schulz, former President of the European Parliament, who was awarded an honorary doctorate at a special ceremony on Mount Scopus on February 11.

The 336 doctoral graduates range from 26 to 78 years of age. At 26, Elad Rom will receive his doctorate from The Hebrew University’s Faculty of Law, where he previously earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees. During his studies, Dr. Rom was a research fellow at the University of Toronto and a researcher in the advanced degree program at Yale University. At 78, Israel Katz will receive his doctorate in Bible Studies. Dr. Katz founded and directed the Kiryat Sharet High School in Holon, and is married with three children and five grandchildren. His son, Dr. Ehud Katz, is a researcher at The Hebrew University’s Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Environment.

Other highlights of The Hebrew University’s 77th Board of Governors session included a celebration of Yissum Technology Transfer’s 50th anniversary; a visit to a special plenary session at the Knesset marking 60 years since breaking ground for the campus today known as the Edmond J. Safra Campus; and a gala performance of La Traviata at the foot of Masada.